Home > About GEI > Development Concept
Development Concept

What is Global Energy Interconnection (GEI)

GEI is a clean energy-dominant, electric-centric modern energy system that is globally interconnected, jointly constructed and mutually beneficial to all. It is an important platform for large-scale development, transmission and consumption of clean energy resources worldwide. In essence, GEI is “Smart Grid + UHV Grid + Clean Energy”.

Smart grid is the foundation.

It integrates modern smart technologies of power transmission, smart operation and control, renewable energy integration and new energy storage. With high flexibility and adaptability, it can meet the needs to integrate various centralized and distributed clean energy sources, and provide smart interactive services.

UHV grid is the key.

UHV grid is mainly composed of 1000kV AC (and above) and ± 800kV, ±1100kV DC (and above) transmission systems, bringing significant advantages, including long transmission distance, large capacity, high efficiency, low line loss, less land use and high security. As the backbone network of GEI, it enables electricity to be transmitted worldwide, covering all major clean energy bases and load centers.

Clean energy is the priority.

The dominant energy transmitted by future GEI will be clean energy, including hydro, wind, solar, nuclear power, ocean and biomass energy. The most important, efficient and convenient way to use clean energy is to convert it into electricity on site.

Challenges for Sustainable Energy Development

Resource Constraints

Resource Constraints

At the present exploitation level, coal will be exhausted in 110 years, and oil and gas in 50 years.

Climate Change

Climate Change

The emissions from fossil fuels account for 73% of greenhouse gas emissions worldwide, which is the main cause for climate change. In 2017, carbon dioxide emissions from fossil energy com-bustion were about 32.5 billion tons, marking a year-on-year increase of 1.3%. If no actions were to be taken, by the end of this century, global temperature rise would exceed 3℃, seriously threatening human survival.

Environmental Pollution

Environmental Pollution

The production, transportation and use of fossil energy have caused acute pollution and serious damages to air, water, and soil, thus threatening human health. The combustion of carbon-based energy accounts for more than 90% of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides emissions, and 85% of PM2.5 emissions. The amount of water used by coal-fired power plants annually is equivalent to that of the basic water supply for1 billion people.

Population Without Power Access

Population Without Power Access

Currently, 1.06 billion people worldwide have no access to electricity, accoun-ting for 1/5 of the world’s population. As many as 3 billion people can only rely on firewood, coal, and animal waste for cooking and heating, and lack the access to modern education, medical care and energy services.

The Path of “Two Replacements, One Restore and One Increase”

The Core of Sustainable Development Lies in Clean Development. The root cause of energy problems is the over-reliance on fossil energy. Therefore, the most effective solution for energy dilemma is to develop low-carbon and zero-carbon energy. The guiding principle for energy transition and development is: to follow the development rule of from high-carbon, inefficient models to low-carbon, highly-efficient ones with the focus shifted from local balance to large-scale and long distance allocation. It’s necessary to follow the path of “Two Replacements, One Restore and One Increase”.

“Two Replacements”

It means clean replacement in energy development, replacing fossil energy by clean alternatives such as solar, wind and hydro power, and electricity replacement in energy consumption, replacing coal, oil and gas by clean electricity from afar.

“One Restore”

It is to restore fossil fuel to its basic attr-ibute as industrial raw material to create even greater value in socio-economic development.

“One Increase”

It means increasing the level of electrifica-tion, thus enlarging the proportion of electricity in energy mix and improving the energy efficiency.

首页 > 走进GEI > 发展理念
发展理念

什么是全球能源互联网

全球能源互联网是清洁主导、电为中心、互联互通、共建共享的现代能源体系,是清洁能源在全球范围大规模开发、输送、使用的重要平台,实质就是“智能电网+特高压电网+清洁能源”。

智能电网是基础

全球能源互联网是清洁主导、电为中心、互联互通、共建共享的现代能源体系,是清洁能源在全球范围大规模开发、输送、使用的重要平台,实质就是“智能电网+特高压电网+清洁能源”。

特高压电网是关键

特高压电网由1000千伏交流和±800千伏、±1100千伏直流系统构成,具有输电距离远、容量大、效率高、损耗低、占地省、安全性好等显著优势,是全球能源互联网的骨干网架。全球各大清洁能源基地与负荷中心都在特高压输送范围内。

清洁能源是根本

全球能源互联网是清洁主导、电为中心、互联互通、共建共享的现代能源体系,是清洁能源在全球范围大规模开发、输送、使用的重要平台,实质就是“智能电网+特高压电网+清洁能源”。

世界能源发展面临四大挑战

资源匮乏

资源匮乏

按目前的开发强度,全球已探明煤炭储量只能开采110多年,石油和天然气只能开采50多年。

气候变化

气候变化

化石能源产生的温室气体占全球温室气体排放的73%,是导致气候变化的主要原因。2017年因化石能源利用产生二氧化碳排放约325亿吨,同比增长1.3%,如不有效控制,到本世纪末全球温升将超过3℃,严重威胁人类生存。

环境污染

环境污染

化石能源所带来的大气、水资源、海洋、土地污染等环境问题日益严峻,严重危害生态环境和人类健康。碳基能源燃烧产生90%以上二氧化硫、氮氧化物和85%的PM2.5,燃煤电厂每年耗水量相当于10亿人基本用水需求。

无电人口

无电人口

全球仍有10多亿人用不上电,占世界总人口1/5;约30亿人只能依靠薪柴、煤炭、动物粪便取暖做饭,教育、医疗、生产生活等需求得不到基本保障。

“两个替代、一个提高、一个回归”

可持续发展的核心是清洁发展。可持续发展问题的根源是对化石能源的高度依赖,最有效的解决方案,就是发展低碳能源、零碳能源。总的思路是:遵循从高碳向低碳、从低效向高效、从局部平衡向大范围配置的发展规律,大力实施“两个替代、一个提高、一个回归”。

“两个替代”

能源开发实施清洁替代,以太阳能、风能、水能等清洁能源替代化石能源;能源消费实施电能替代,以电代煤、以电代油、以电代气、以电代柴,用的是清洁发电。

“一个提高”

提高电气化水平,增大电力在能源消费中的比重,在保障用能需求前提下降低能源消费量。

“一个回归”

即化石能源回归其基本属性,主要作为工业原料和材料使用,为经济社会发展创造更大价值。